My Blog. :D

Twilight Continued April 18, 2009

Filed under: BEDA — Me! @ 2:27 pm

I was just reading through the blogs of other BEDA-ers, and reading Jacinthe’s got me thinking about stuff, so this blog is going to be a sort of reaction about the Twilight DVD from Jacinthe’s post. I haven’t actually seen the Twilight movie on DVD – I did see it in theatres, but from what I’m hearing from everyone about the special features, I’m really annoyed. I’m not angry with the features themselves, but rather with WB. The Twilight movie itself was butchered – there were few, in my opinion, actually good scenes – and yet they get these apparently awesome special features? Why can’t WB put good features on HP DVDs? Surely it’s not a money issue (actually, I wouldn’t be surprised if they blamed money, since they seem to be doing a lot of that lately), since although the budgets are huge, they make ridiculous amounts of money back every time a movie is released, and then after that with DVD sales and merchandise. There have been few features on the HP DVDs that have impressed me – there were so many interviews with all sorts of cast members on the Chamber of Secrets DVD, and a really cool Day With A Champion (or something along the same lines) on the Goblet of Fire DVD. I might be forgetting one or two features I enjoyed, but where are the deleted scenes? The commentaries by actors/directors/screenwriters? Gag reels? Behind-the-scenes? There was one behind-the-scenes clip (I believe) on the GoF DVD. I remember it had something to do with the Yule Ball, because I remember Tom Felton dancing hilariously, Dan trying to prepare for his dance, and Emma laughing with Tom. Come to think of it, that might have been the Champion thing. Anyway, it was hilarious. Why can’t we have more of those?! We KNOW there is always something hilarious going on at Leavesdon, or wherever they’re shooting. All of the cast members are excellent friends with each, they’re always laughing. We could have such amazing special features, but someone at WB can’t be bothered. :( We’re just getting stringed along, because WB knows that whatever crap they put us through, we’re still going to go to midnight releases, still going to buy the DVDs, no matter how bad the special features are, and this sucks. I hate getting jerked around by WB. And on top of all of this, apparently the US is now getting the movie on July 15th, and we still have to wait until the 17th. All I can say is that a) HBP better be the best movie I have ever seen, and b) the DVD better have the best special features ever. A thought just came to me: if WB releases a special DVD set after DH comes out, which they will undoubtedly do to get more money out of us, they had better not put better special features on them. If they’re hording special features from back before the PS DVD was released, I am going to be so incredibly angry.

Anyway, enough ranting. Today’s song of the day is going to be 18th Floor Balcony by Blue October. Ironically, I first heard this song from a Twilight video, and every other version of the song on YouTube is live… So I had to link to that. :p It’s an excellent video, though. The song (on the CD) is 18th Floor Balcony/It’s Just Me. It’s Just Me is a hidden track on the CD, and is also an excellent song by Blue October. <3 Tomorrow I may not be able to blog, depending on how late I get back from my grandma’s after Easter dinner, just so you all know. :)

 

2 Responses to “Twilight Continued”

  1. Jacinthe Says:

    We still have to wait until the 17th?? I didn’t know that!! Wow. WB sucks majorly, I agree.
    I might add something else later, I have to go now.

    • niamara Says:

      I’ve been told that the date was changed for Canada as well to the 15th, but I’ve yet to see an article confirm this. The article on MN just said that the release date was being moved to July 15th, but it didn’t specifically say they were doing that for Canadian fans as well… I’m wary to believe things from WB that don’t specifically mention that they’re changing it for Canada as well.


Leave a Reply

