My Blog. :D

Random Stuff April 12, 2009

Filed under: BEDA — Me! @ 10:04 pm

Today’s blog is really just a medley of some pretty random stuff, so hopefully it doesn’t sound too choppy or jumpy or whatnot!

First, I need to take a moment out of my time to that the gods of technology for inventing MSN. Although it fails sometimes for no apparent reason, it allows me to easily speak to many people from many different areas at the same time in the same window. THANK YOU, MSN! MOFFIA chats are epic in every way possible. :)

Next, Happy Easter to those of you who celebrate Easter today!

Now that formalities are over with, blogging can continue. Today, my mum and I watched the series premiere of Harper’s Island, which aired on Thursday but we taped it, and man, is it a good show! On the premiere alone there have already been two murders, and the soap opera aspect is really confusing. However, once I get everyone straight, it’s going to be epic. I can tell. :) Something else of epic proportions is this video of Hugh Laurie that I found on YouTube. I post this for the amusement of my French-speaking friends. My god, it is hilarious. Watch it and see. :) His French is actually quite good, I think! Although my opinion is also not worth that much, since I’m nowhere near fluent, but I think he sounds excellent. I never knew Hugh spoke French. Another link I have stumbled upon and have to post is the link to Cassandra Clare’s LiveJournal, where there is a post in which she answers some questions from CoG. I won’t say anything about it in case someone is reading this and plans to read the series at some point, or has not yet read CoG, but if you have and want some answers, check it out. Some of them are useful and interesting. :)

All of that aside, I have one last update on my boots fiasco. (And I am dearly sorry for all the clothes/shoe talk! It won’t happen again, I promise.) Apparently we may be going to the States during summer for another quick shopping trip, and even though I will still have to wait until the summer (if we go), it’s sooner than August (when fall stuff comes out), since we’ll probably go in July, and it’ll be cheaper. This is, of course, assuming that they’ll have boots there at that time, but the US has DSW which almost always, I think, has boots, and other department stores as well, so hopefully I’ll find something. :) And that is the end of my boots stories. I swear.

In other news, I’m going to my friend’s house tomorrow for a movie marathon. (And guess what movie is in the line-up? That’s right. Pride & Prejudice. I was talking to her yesterday and she asked me something, and I was like, “I’m sorry, I can’t concentrate, my head is filled with thoughts of Mr Darcy,” which spawned a huge discusion of how she didn’t think anyone else liked that movie and how much we love Darcy, so now we’re watching it. She is enabling my obsession. <3) We shall also be watching Wanted (with James McAvoy, mmmm) and Tristan & Isolde (with James Franco! Mmmm XD). Yeah, I have a thing for guys named James, apparently. Or guys with names that just start with ‘J’. Jace, James Potter, Jasper, James McAvoy, James Franco… The list goes on. Anyway, the gist of it is that I’m excited, but I don’t know when we’ll be done. I also have to do math when I get home because even though we have no actual homework, I have neglected doing any AP practice all weekend since I had no homework in any other subject. We got, like, 100 multiple choice questions, though, and several other pages of short answer and integration and stuff. <3

And this is getting kind of long, so I’ll just do the song of the day. Today’s song is Joshua Radin’s Brand New Day, which was on House a while ago (by a while ago I mean five – seven episodes). Cookies to anyone who can tell me the episode! (Hint: it has to do with Wilson.) And with that challenge I must leave you all. See you tomorrow!

 

13 Responses to “Random Stuff”

  1. Catherine Says:

    Why does everyone speak French?? I want to learn just so I can fit in with all my friends!

    • niamara Says:

      I’m sorry, Catherine! =( Canadians generally speak a bit of French because we’re supposed to be a bilingual country, so it’s mandatory to take French from grades 4 – 9.

  2. Jacinthe Says:

    “Pouf! Cinq!” Hahahaha that was hilarious!
    He does speak excellent French! He has an accent of course but I could actually understand everything he said, unlike in some movies/shows where the characters are supposed to speak French, but the actor doesn’t, so they say it by the sound and I actually have to read the English subtitles to understand, XD.
    Was there any particular reason why he was instantly translating everything the other woman said?

    I’m sorry I couldn’t be there for the chat, by the way. I left my uncle’s at like 2am after our Easter dinner. More details in my blog, which I’m going to go write right now ;)

    • niamara Says:

      I don’t know why he was repeating it… Obviously it was for comedic purposes, but I’m not sure if they were at an international awards ceremony or something. Aww, that’s ok. Apparently a lot of people had Easter things to do. This weekend just wasn’t good for a chat. :( We’ll have another one soon, though. :)

  3. Jacinthe Says:

    Only 6 years?
    When I was in primary school we also started English in grade 4, but we had it until our last high school year (which would be grade 11 for you), but then it got changed and the kids now have English starting in grade 1, so that makes 11 years (12 if they go to college).
    It’s a bit unfair that we have to take English longer than you have to take French… but I guess English is just more useful as a second language than French is. *sigh*

    [/French teacher rant]

    • niamara Says:

      Ugh, I wish we started French in grade 1! Maybe if we started earlier I’d have a better accent and would know French better in general. :( Plus, you guys get to say you’re perfectly bilingual, whereas if you only take French for 6 years, that’s hardly bilingual. If you were in a French Immersion program here you would start in grade 1 and all your classes would be in French.

  4. Jacinthe Says:

    Oh well, even starting in grade 1, people are hardly bilingual if they don’t practice at home or just don’t want to learn. Unfortunately, I don’t think it changed the overall quality of the language, because I think from grade 1-3 they’re only doing simple things without any real progress, so they forget everything over the summer.

    I was more concerned about the fact that, generally speaking, the rest of Canada doesn’t really care about learning French properly, whereas for us it’s important as a society to learn English.

    • niamara Says:

      Oh, yeah, that’s true, unfortunately. *sigh* I wish it wasn’t like that. I wish being bilingual was more important, that French was more important in the rest of Canada. :(

  5. muse88 Says:

    Please Please tell me you watched the BBC adaption of Pride and Prejudice and not the Kiera Knightley version?!

    • niamara Says:

      I was watching the Keira Knightley version, actually… Why, is the BBC one better? I’ve never seen that one.

  6. muse88 Says:

    OMG it is amazing! It’s so true to the book and Mr Darcy is sooo A-M-A-Z-I-N-G!! I mean the dude in the Kiera Knightley one does not have anything on Colin Firth! He is beyond incredible and sexy – seriously check it out if you get the chance!! :)

    • niamara Says:

      I just reserved a copy of this version at my local library, so I’ll probably be watching it this weekend (granted I have the time). Thanks for the recommendation! :)

  7. muse88 Says:

    Awh fantastic – it’s rather long but bare with it – it’s fantastic! Here’s a little taster photo for you http://tiny.cc/LVNRK
    And watch out for the pond scene :D
    Enjoy!! and please let me know what you think :D


Leave a Reply

